The last thing you want while visiting California is a DUI or DWI charge. If charged with drunk driving in California, it is important to effectively and promptly confront these charges. Your legal matter will not disappear once you cross state lines, and you may benefit from the assistance of an attorney to help you deal with this matter.
With the help of a defense lawyer, you can eventually put this matter behind you and move forward with your life. It is important to act quickly to protect your rights and work to mitigate the potential penalties that you face.
What you need to know about your DUI or DWI
The consequences for drunk driving in California are severe, even if you live in another state. Here are some things you need to know if you are facing this type of criminal charge:
- A first-time conviction will result in at least $1,800 in fines, jail time, drunk driving classes and suspension of license for six months.
- You must request a license hearing within 10 days or face an automatic suspension of six months.
- You have the right to fight for a dismissal or reduction of charges if there are sufficient grounds to do so.
- It is sometimes possible to negotiate a reduction in the consequences of a drunk driving conviction.
If you live in another state, your unique situation should be the foundation of your defense strategy. The best defense is tailored to your individual needs and objectives, not a cookie-cutter solution from an attorney who is not genuinely invested in your success. It is possible to resolve this matter in a way that is both practical and beneficial.
The aggressive defense strategy that you need
If facing drunk driving charges in California, you need a lawyer with a close knowledge of the state's DUI laws to advocate for your interests. Experience matters, especially when facing serious criminal charges.
Depending on the circumstances of your case, it may be possible to challenge the evidence against you or negotiate lesser penalties. It is beneficial to reach out for legal guidance as soon as possible, seeking a case evaluation in order to discover the most appropriate defense option for you. With the right help, you can move past a DUI charge in California.